A different night

I know that I should have written about this a little before, well… about a month ago, but ss the saying goes “it’s better late than never”.
Sé que debería haber escrito esto un poco antes, bueno… hace un mes, pero como dicen el refrán “más vale tarde que nunca”.

New Year, New Life… Well I don’t really want a new life – because I think that I already am living it – but I want a new year full of different experiences and memories; and in some way that my year started like that.

Año Nuevo, Vida Nueva… Bueno, realmente no quiero una vida nueva – porque creo que ya la estoy viviendo – pero si quiero un año nuevo lleno de experiencias diferentes y recuerdos, y en cierta manera mi año empezó así.

We spend the night in house of a good Venezuelan friend; therefore I had the opportunity to learn some of their New Year Eve’s traditions:
Pasamos la noche en casa de un buen amigo venezolano, por lo que tuve la oportunidad de aprender alguna de sus tradiciones de Año Nuevo:

– They use yellow underwear (instead the traditional Spanish red), and they put on it upside-down 😛
– Usan ropa interior amarilla (en lugar del rojo tradicional de España), y se la ponen al revés 😛

– To have cash in the pocket at midnight, in order to have economy prosperity in the New Year.
– Tener dinero en el bolsillo a medianoche, para tener prosperidad económica en el Año Nuevo.

– After taking the grapes; to go out with an empty suitcase to have a year full of travels.
– Después de tomar las uvas, salir fuera con una maleta vacía para tener un año lleno de viajes.

Mi padre con la maleta a cuestas 🙂

Besides to learn this, that night was…
Además de aprender esto, esa noche fue…

– The first New Year that I spent far away from home; far away from my old friends and the majority of my family; but fortunately with my parents.
– El primer Ano Nuevo que paso lejos de casa, lejos de mis amigos de siempre y la mayoria de mi familia, pero afortunadamente con mis padres


– The first time that I did my tie knot… although I had to see this video in YouTube
– La primera vez que me hice el nudo de la corbata… aunque para esto tuve que ver este video de YouTube 🙂

– The first time, since I have age to do it, that I didn’t go out partying all night… therefore it was the first New Year that I arrived home without to smell to ashtray.
– La primera vez, desde que tengo edad para hacerlo, que no salgo de fiesta toda la noche… por lo que fue el primer Año Nuevo que llego a casa sin oler a cenicero :0

– The first New Year that I had dinner after the twelve strokes; well… even the first time that I remember to have the grapes… I usually have chocolate or something sweet, as I don’t like a lot the grapes, but I guess that the occasion disserves it, isn’t?
– El primer Año Nuevo en el que cene después de las doce campanadas, bueno… incluso la primera vez que recuerdo haber tomado las uvas… normalmente tomo chocolate o algo duce, porque no me gustan las uvas, pero supongo que la ocasión lo merecía, no?

We had having a good night but it suddenly improve when by chance I recognized the radio station that we were listening with my friend’s Iphone… it was the local radio that I usually listen when I am in Malaga… 92.8 Radio Planeta. For a moment, I felt like in home even being to thousands of kilometers – This world is not so big.

Estábamos pasando una buena noche, pero de repente mejoro cuando de casualidad reconocí la emisora que estábamos escuchando con el iPhone de mi amigo… era la emisora que normalmente escucho cuando estoy en Malaga… 92.8 Radio Planeta. Por un momento me sentí como en casa aun estando a miles de kilómetros – El mundo no es tan grande.

Responder

